Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 134 total)
  • Author
    Chris Yaughn

This is my first attempt on a scrap piece. If you are transitioning to working w/ granite, you really need to look into this.  After I practice for a while I will be able to take scratches out of granite, as well as polish seams.  

I took out some scratche I  made w/ a diamiond blade.

Chris Yaughn

Forgot to add that the one on the left is the one I polished. The right side is a few inches to the side of the repair.

I need to stop at 2000g to match the factory on this, I think. (Kashmir White).

Considering the conventional wisdom in these parts is, if a granite top gets a scratch it simply, well…….. has a scratch.  This is a very exciting development.

Chris, do you seal after you got it to that polished look…and when taking out a scratch do you just grind down the scratch area or do you sand down seam to seam? I always wondered if you hadta remove a scratch would hafta take down the whole top?

I also wondered if the previous sealer cakes up your pads?

Looks shiny…Great job….
    i could imagine how shiny its gonna get when the sealer goes on

Chris Yaughn

Gene,

If I am following your question, you shouldn’t have to re-polish an entire run to fix a small scratch.  I am not sure you could reasonably ($ or time) do it that way. The trick will be to match the sheen.

Also, In my limited expereince, the sealer should not add shine nor would I expect it to gum up pads.  I could be wrong on that, but premium sealer, in my estimation should not alter the look of the stone.

I am still in the learning phase but very excited about the possibilities.

jan Pedersen

We’ve been top polishing for a year now, nothing to it. Some of the blacks (absolute is one) are problematic, but it can be done.

No need to polish the entire slab.

Karl Crooks
    Chris Yaughn