Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author

Besides the other post by Andy I am interested in what others have to say about other systems as we are always looking to improve our speed and accuracy of the job, and I am sure others are as well.

I would like to know what other companies are using to template, what they like about it, what they would change and possibly any parts they have a problem templating.

Thanks

John

George Owren

John

I had the laser system and purchased e-template and couldn’t be happier. I’m still learning but it is as fast as any other method I’ve used. I’ve had my system for about 4 weeks and have complete confidence in the results. I percieve that the templating is not going to be the logjam but how quickly I can process the dxf to machine code.

Pros

Job site photos included with templating.

Additional points can be added back at the shop if addtional information is needed.

Physical size of room does not limit getting the template done.

Outside corners, blind corners, cut outs, diagonal sink corners are easier to template.

Don’t have to work on small screen.

Cons

There is a learning curve. I have not taken their training yet and I’m sure that when I do I’ll get better.

BTW. I’m interested in learning more about how you set up your templates. I can see that I’m going to need to do that to standardize my procedures, simplify the cad/cam process, and make it easier to teach someone else. My CNC is arriving next week.

George

We use PHOTO-TOP, and very happy with it, we hired a person off the street ,3 days of training and shes been off and running for about 3 years.Would hate to think of going back to stick template

Gowren covered about all the Pros

http://fabchoice.com/phototop.html

Matt Kraft

Pros have been published widely. We use the job photos as a “hash” session for any/all job site problems. Good training aid to guys in the shop who can’t visualize how some intricate tops fit.