Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    JasonCarr

I sold 2 jobs back to back  one to a friend and one to a customer I picked up off a business ad on Craigslist. I ordered the  material and glue from Domain Industries and the stuff arrived just as it was supposed to , no cracks no  chips  and the one color called Roman earth sheared right on the pallet as I slide it off  just enough to lift it and take it in the shop.( i used 2 people and we work well together)

Next week I ordered 3 sheets of Scarlet Crystal and  the section I was working on was a L shape that was going to have a field seam and  eventually make a c shaped countertop.  the  counter cracked  as if there was an imaginary 45 degree chalk line popped. I was able to cut out the crack and reseam and save that sheet.  I went to fabricate the other 8 ft section and it cracks and fingers al the way across the top the 25 inch width…

I’m pretty new to this material and i’ve picked up livingstone and corian and had it flex and  wobble and this stuff  was the most brittle stuff ever.  I had 2 pieces of fall off on a pallet that I picked up to try and salvage the  last crack and the color had “leached out of a section” for the lack of a better term

I called Domain and they said the material was a blend and it was more brittle than what I was used to.  I don’t care for avonite as its the same thing   its a blend and its brittle and I won’t sell it.  they told me there wasn’t anything they could do  but they’d try to help me out if I ordered  more sheets or If I ordered  some sinks they  would help me a little bit..

I felt so bad about the material and the constant cracking I gave the customers thier money back as they didn’t want anything else and I’ve eaten 2600.00 in material…

I guess after all of that  sob story and Avonite bashing  My question is has anybody had  bad material???  Or a job that nothing went right???