Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Nick Marvich

I am a hobbyist builder, and I am constructing a custom desk with Formica Radiance Laminate.  Where can I buy sheets of this brand and model of Formica, big box retailers dont seem to sell sheets as far as I know, or will they order it for you?

Typically, any kitchen dealer can order it for you.  Also, Lowes can also special order any laminate product you require.

Brian Stone

The big box stores should be able to order a sheet of laminate for you. I would suggest just calling local counter top fabricators first though. You’ll probably get a better price and better service.

Tom M

You’ll certainly get better information.

Remember, laminate is one of the most unforgiving materials to work with for countertops or worktops. Talk to a fabricator before you take the plunge.

The Radiance collection does have some stunners, though, in the looks department.

Were are you from?

Megy

I live in Baltimore, MD. This will be my first attempt using laminate. Can I trim it with a regular router or does it need an actual laminate router, if so what kind of bit should I use.?

Tom M

There are laminate routers and laminate router bits that are used in regular routers. A flush trim bit, or a pilot panel bit are examples of laminate bits that have many other uses as well, but a laminate trimmer (or, more properly – a veneer trimmer) are routers that are set up for laminate or other veneer work.