Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

Susan and I are currently in Collinsville, Ill. (in the middle of Flatland) for the SFA Mega workshop. Got here Wednesday to set up and these guys blew my mind with what they have accomplished. Locisticaly difficult for complete noobs to put on a trade show? Well, they were not held back by knowing how difficult it would be, and that is for sure. Northwood, CMS, and a slew of other CNCs, water jets, multiaxis stone saws, edge polishers and you name it were all up and running. Running for real because the SFA guys had set up a complete water recycling system out in the back lot that could process something like 150 gal a min. All piped around the perimeter of the space. Overhead cranes set up to supply the machines with slabs, you name it. Our little booth was next to the SFA booth, and across from the “cage” where you could get your hands on all sorts of ait and electric tools to polish, cut, grind, whatever you wanted.
    Off to breakfast, more later

Tom M

What kind of building is it in?

Oh, and good luck. Say Hi to Susan for me.

KCWOOD

Steve… do you mean it is not a show set up by all the union guys that charge $100 to plug in an extension cord, or $500 to move a skid from point a to b??

It is at the Gateway Convention Center here and they have the whole building. Place is normally used for multiple big weddings and stuff. No 3 phase power. No problem. Park a tractor trailer sized generator out back whis a huge air compressor and we are good to go. 10 x 10 booth is free to sponsors. I think maybe 300 for each additional 100 sq ft. NO unions, free electricty for us, free chairs and tables, free for our freight to our booth location.
    huge free dinner last night with a rock band later, and free beer.

Andy Graves
    Keymaster

That is great so hear. Post some pictures if you get a chance. I like the fact it is in a location without unions.