Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hello….just a little background on me….I am pretty new to the counter top business but have been CAD drafting and designing for over 14 years…..My business was custom stainless steel fabrication for the foodservice industry, so this was bit a change for me. But Ive been with this company almost a year and really my main resposibility was the photo-top / CAD drawings. My question is well I want to explain our process and if I could get some feedback on this process that would be great. It just seems to me that the way we do it could be improved and sped up a bunch….but I am new so you guys and gals please help me out. Heres the deal. There are 2 of us in the Computer room. I handle the photo-top and what we call the 1st draw (which is me taking the dxf files, get them into AutoCAD and make a drawing out of it). Then our programmer takes that drawing along with all the info and programs it for our machines, stone or solid surface.

Well as of starting Monday I started doing some programs (very green on that process but fighting thru it). As of today, I can see where some of the process steps that we use are redundant and time consuming in that once the dxf file is made, a drawing created, seems to me that the process works better and I stay more intuned to the job if I just go ahead and program it myself. That brings up other questions. Like. Is every CNC process as mumble jumble as process that I go thru? (Secam and Toolpath) I mean the way it is set up, photo-top creates a dxf, I create a dwg off that dxf, then I have to create another dxf for the CNC on both ss and stone (adding for the particular profiles on a specific layer, offsets, etc. etc.) Seems there is a faster way of combining these into one but Im just following rules and new to the business. Could anyone explain something that might work better? Thanks for you input.

Harlan Martin

martindds@att.net

Shane Barker

Harlan,